Skip to content

Board of Dental Examiners of Alabama

Alabama dentist CE requirements

The published continuing-education requirements for a Alabama dental license, laid out clearly so you can see the whole picture before your renewal.

What the board requires

  • 20 hrsTotal per annual cycle.
  • 1 hrsPrescribing of controlled substances, counted within the total.
  • 1 hrsInfectious disease control, counted within the total.
  • 1 hrsEthical considerations in the practice of dentistry, counted within the total.
  • Min 10 hrsMinimum 10 of the 20 hours must be live training.
  • Up to 10 hrsNon-live online/self-study training limited to 10 hours (derived from the 10-hour live floor, not stated verbatim).
  • RequiredCurrent Basic Life Support (BLS) certification through AHA, ARC, or an equivalent program, completed via live training, certified for 2 to 4 hours (does not count toward CE hours).
One honest caveat. We have not yet confirmed every number against the primary board source, so we are not running an automatic Alabama calculator. We would rather leave it out than guess. Confirm the exact requirements with Board of Dental Examiners of Alabama.
Track my FAGD or MAGD progress

Common questions

How many CE hours do Alabama dentists need?

20 hours per annual renewal cycle. That is what CEChart has on file from the source cited on this page, not a figure confirmed against Board of Dental Examiners of Alabama, so check it with the board before you rely on it.

Which specific topics does Alabama require?

1 hour prescribing of controlled substances; 1 hour infectious disease control; 1 hour ethical considerations in the practice of dentistry. These count inside the total, not on top of it. Not confirmed against Board of Dental Examiners of Alabama yet.

Are there limits on how Alabama dentists can earn CE hours?

Yes: minimum 10 of the 20 hours must be live training (at least 10 hours); non-live online/self-study training limited to 10 hours (derived from the 10-hour live floor, not stated verbatim) (up to 10 hours). Not confirmed against Board of Dental Examiners of Alabama yet.

Does Alabama require anything besides CE hours?

Yes: current Basic Life Support (BLS) certification through AHA, ARC, or an equivalent program, completed via live training, certified for 2 to 4 hours. That is a credential you hold, not CE hours you count. Not confirmed against Board of Dental Examiners of Alabama yet.

Can CEChart track my Alabama CE automatically?

Not yet. We show the Alabama requirements and their sources, but we do not run an automatic Alabama calculator until every number is confirmed against Board of Dental Examiners of Alabama.

Source: Board of Dental Examiners of Alabama (https://dentalboard.org/professionals/continuing-education/). These are the published requirements as we read them, not legal or board advice, and CEChart does not certify compliance. Confirm your requirements with Board of Dental Examiners of Alabama before you rely on them.

Want Alabama tracking when it is ready?

Leave your email and we will tell you the moment we confirm this state's rule.